Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,452

    Day of reflection

    August 15, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I wake for sunrise and feel a million dollars today. I really feel at peace at the moment and this morning with not a sole in site I take time on the beach for a little reflection. I'm very blessed to be doing what I'm doing although I've also worked incredibly hard over the years it also takes a lot of courage to put that rucksack on your back and leave the people you love for a whole year. There have been so many highs on this trip, with the occasional low, but when there's a problem there's always a solution. As I've traveled Asia I'm amazed at the mentality and the kindness shown by these amazing people, even when the chips are down their ability to survive with a constant smile on their face never fails to inspire me to do better. I have 4 months left of my trip and I know they will fly by but the journey will continue. I drink my coffee and have my boiled eggs for breakfast before taking to the sea. The water is much clearer today and I really enjoy just bobbing about mesmerized with the array of beautiful fish. I literally don't move from outside my bungalow today and this evening I've been invited to go with the family to the temple. I plan to get up for the football tomorrow at 3am so I take an afternoon nap to catch up on some sleep. I actually end up sleeping for 3 hours . When I wake I'm starving and I suggest to Nico we go for dinner but I really fancy western food. He suggests a place called Rimba cafe and when we arrive it's pretty full. Inside it's really beautiful and has various seating areas that are cordened of by natural foliage it should be named the secret garden. I enjoy the most delicious burger followed by a salted caramel soffle that even Jamie Oliver would be proud of. While I'm here I receive a message from a good friend at home and return to spend some time to speak with her. It's crazy how when you see things on Facebook you believe and read into how people have a perfect life, yet beneath the stories every one is having their own struggles. It's at times like these I wish I could time warp my way home just to give someone I care for a big hug. There's no beer again today as I want to watch the game so get to bed just before 10Read more