Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,453

    Last full day

    August 16, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    I don't make the sunrise this morning but watched the football game till silly o clock but was pleasantly surprised to get a really good stream, maybe because noone else was on the internet at that time. When I get up Made has a houseful of kids so I help entertain them by playing musical statues we then have multiple renditions of baby shark. As times gone by the kids have definitely warmed to me and it's a wonderful warmth to my heart to hear these kids who have nothing laughing and singing without a care in the world. Afterwards I reward them with an ice cream eachIn the early afternoon I take my opportunity to go snorkeling again. The water isn't brilliant but while I'm in there I'm swamped by the huge angel fish I saw the other day but today there are 4 or 5 of them and they literally surround me. This afternoon I'm going to the temple and just before we go the girls are practicing their dance routine. I get ready and am painting my nails and ask Kutut if the girls can have their nails painted. They choose the glitter color of course. Me and Nico ride to the temple at just after 5:30 and we met there by Made. After a quick Arak we eat Babi guling which is like a baby pig hog roast and enjoy the sunset we are soon joined by the ladies who after knocking flowers from the tree and placing them behind their ears ask if I would like to go and collect the offerings with them. As we are leaving I hear the pigs being brought to the temple. There are two one as an offering and one to eat. We take a short walk to collect the offerings which are made by various different houses depending on what they are. We wander down little alleyways making our collections and I find the art of carrying things on my head. I can't believe how much there is, luckily two transit vans stop and drive to the little lane which leads to the entrance of the temple where we then unload it. Sali (kututs wife) arrives with the girls and I get the opportunity to enter into the temple and receive a blessing. Holy water is placed into my palms 3 times which I drink and then another 3 times which I wash with. I'm then offered rice which I proceed to eat and everybody laughs as I'm actually meant to put this on my forehead. I'm given a small Bamboo basket filled with little flowers and place behind each ear. It's a very spiritual moment and I feel very blessed to have been invited to join. Back to the outskirts of the temple there is a lot of preparing of chillies and garlic and shallots and I mean bags and bags and everyone joins in including me. I sit for 2 hours peeling garlic as we watch the girls practice they're Balinese dance ready for tomorrow. At just after 9pm I leave with Sali and the kids and grab a quick shower before heading to Amed bar for my last few beers and a couple of cheeky Araks before dropping into bedRead more