Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,475

    Farewell Indonesia

    September 7, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    I wake this morning and prepare my little farewell presents and photos. I don't see today as a sad day as I'm pretty sure I will be back in November. I say my goodbyes and Wawan Barra and Abang walk me down the 270 steps. I have to say it's a lot easier than I'd envisaged. it's nice to be down by the river. As I arrive to the taxi Abang gives me a small present. I can't believe I've been here for nearly 3 week and it's crazy how at home I am here. Even buma the dog comes down to send me off. I bid farewell to Wawan at the steps but continue to the taxi with the other boys. As we drive away I really appreciate the jungle. The drive for the first couple of hours is quite rough but as we enter a more civilized area there's guys to cross us across the busy junctions. We arrive to the airport in good time and after grabbing a trolley I make my way to the back of the check in line. I don't know what it is with me and lines but before I know it the guy in front of me is checking in the whole family with 15 passports. It takes nearly an hour. I have time for a quick coffee and cigarette before boarding the plane to leave. I'm slightly gutted by how little I've seen of Indonesia although I have done quite a bit here like Komodo Island, Labuan bajo, Amed and Sumatra but I haven't really scraped the surface so I guess I'll have to put Indonesia back on the list. I book a grab and it's over an hour to Jays house and by the time I arrive I'm exhausted. We have a quick catch up and order food. While we're waiting I have my first hot shower for weeks and it's amazing it's the little things that we all take for granted that makes me happiest. After dinner and numerous cups of Yorkshire tea I go to bed a happy lady.Read more