Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,480

    New set of wheels

    September 12, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    This morning I feel exhausted. Getting around on crutches is one of the hardest things I've done, my underarm and psalms of my hands have blisters on and I struggle to wake with such a negative start. The couple who run the guesthouse are lovely and can't do enough to help me and It's really nice because I also know 4 other people here. My mood changes as all of them come over and offer if I need a lift anywhere or anything else I need picking up just call them. One of my reasons for coming back here was purely for the people, I have a wonderful friends community here. Nanda drops me at Raos where I enjoy a roti and brew coffee. It's nice to sit here and just to chat. A little later Rick and Tom turn up and offer to take me to Kuah to look at wheelchairs. I have hunted high and low for a mobility scooter but there are literally none on the island so my second option is a wheelchair. In the store I try all of them out and opt for the heaviest one as it's more sturdy and feels less flimsy. Its 8 pound a day to rent a chair and £60 to buy one so I purchase my new set of wheels and we head back to Pantai Chenang for me to give them a trial run. In my head I have visions of scooting round like super gran but the reality once again hits hard. After a couple of pushes and a slight incline I'm exhausted. As all who know me well I'm no quitter and I give myself a kick up the arse. The pavements here are not great and they use a lot of gravel to allow the rain to drain away. Twenty minutes in Sy is collecting his laundry and is so pleased to see me. He asks where I'm going and offers me a push. When I arrive at Rainbow Uncle Johnny, Helen and Ralph are there. I sit and have a couple of beers with them, but to be honest I'm not really feeling in the mood to drink. It's pretty busy in the bar, but I'm not really in the mood but I hang around to see Eunice and Michael. I'm ready to leave shortly after and call a cab. Alan insists that he will follow with his bike to lift the wheelchair out and makes sure I get to my room safely. I get out of my chair and onto my crutches and literally crash onto the bed exhausted. Let's hope I can recharge my batteries for tomorrow.Read more