Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,481

    Gigolo stance

    September 13, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    I'm really struggling with my positivity these past few days. I really just want to be home but my foot is still really swollen and until I get the go ahead from the doctor in 2.5 weeks I'm unable to fly long haul so I guess I should accept this and try and make the most of my final part of my trip. I get a shower and immediately feel better. The plan is to go out today independently but the rain starts at 9 and doesn't finish till 1. I order a pizza as the crew have gone to Kuah and won't be back till early afternoon. I need a few bits of shopping and Rick kindly pushes me to the main road on Pantai Chenang later in the afternoon. I honestly never realised how hard It was to push yourself in a wheelchair and as I travel down the cracked pavements have to take shelter behind the bushes out of the son every 100m or so. I hadn't planned to go all the way to the mall but The black pearl coffee shop on Google maps isn't open anymore so I make the additional effort and wheel myself on to Starbucks where I sit and enjoy coffee and cake. On the last part and hardest,as it's gravel, I'm helped by a total stranger called Alex who pushes me the last 5 minutes back to my room, although it would have taken me 30+ minutes if I was diy'ing it. Back at Ranch I share a few beers and I chat to Rick about something called Hashing. I've never heard of this before but the motto is 'a drinking club with a running problem'. Everyone is going to Cinnamon a little bar around the corner. Nanda drops me off in the car and I've opted for crutches this evening to make life a little easier. In cinnamon we get chatting to a lady called Jay who is not only a Doctor but a vet as well. We all really enjoy her company and make our way back to the guest house to enjoy a few beers in the garden. They all drink a lot although I move onto coffee. The time flies by and before I know it my alarm is going off at 245 to say the Liverpool game is due to kick off. I bid my goodbyes and leave them all to continue. I eventually drift off after the excitement of seeing the squad win our game and show more of our way.Read more