Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,703

    Papaboo's

    April 23, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    It's a pretty slow start to the day which is nice. I walked so far in Paris that I'm exhausted. We get up and take breakfast before heading out in the car. Hilmi has a friend who owns a pizzeria in another town so we're taking a drive here. As we drive on the Motorway I'm astonished at how fast cars are driving and I can't believe it when Hilmi tells me there is no speed limit. Literally no limits? He also finds it amazing that ours is 70mph. There motorways have also been set up for hgvs to be replaced by electric hybrid transporter to cut down on the carbon emission, I think this is a great idea although along both journeys I don't see one. They also have a law here that if the traffic slows down the traffic drives to the far left and right of the carriageway to allow the room for an emergency vehicle. As we're driving along the road I say omg there's flamingos in the field which Hilmi finds hilarious and explains they are only stork's. En route we stop at glauberg celtic museum a small museum focusing on Celtic history, set in a beautiful landscape but the highlight for me was the cherry crumble cake. We finally arrive in the town of Worms where after a short walk around we discover there is a wine festival, but it's quite common for people to pay a deposit on a glass and walk around with the filled vessel. Papabu's is not open till 5 so we join the crowd and indulge in ice-cream. A speciality here is ice cream spaghetti where they make vanilla ice cream with a strawberry sauce and grated coconut to represent the parmesan cheese. Just before 5pm papabu's opens and we receive the warmest of greetings. I order the gorgonzola Parma ham and pear which is absolutely delicious and although I can't eat it all I take the rest home for supper.Read more