Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Road Trip Day 4 – Pisa

    May 23, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Back into the car for a short drive to Pisa. We have been following Stefano in the car for the last four days. Didn’t lose him once. He had to follow us for 600 metres – didn’t follow us when we turned off. Graham won’t let him live that one down!

    I don’t know what people go to Pisa for more – to see the Leaning Tower or the people all pretending to hold it up. How that thing hasn’t fallen down I don’t know! I refused to pretend to hold the tower up for a photo, but peer pressure and all. Picture is attached. You can see how thrilled I was. Ernie had a crack but I don’t think he’s got the hang of it yet.

    Went to a restaurant for the last supper (well lunch anyway). I couldn’t quite finish my meal and had left 1 ½ tortellini and Stefano was aghast that I was going to send it back to the kitchen. Apparently it would make Jesus cry. Stefano helped me out by finishing it and said “Ok, Jesus is happy now”. We have laughed every day at the funny comments Stefano comes out with. I love the relationship the Italians have with their food – no wonder they are such fabulous cooks.

    Said a sad and tearful goodbye to Deb, Stefano and Ernie. It has been so special spending the last week with them. Stefano put together a fabulous itinerary and we feel we have seen the real Italy, but then who better to show it than an Italian. We have had many laughs and have made many special memories with them. I hope one day we can repay them. Every gelato from now on will be in their honour. Then we said a not so sad goodbye to our hire car, but not before we got lost in La Spezzia and drive through a market, oops.
    Read more