Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Vernazza - Cinque Terre

    May 24, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    We arrived in Vernazza late afternoon and thank goodness iron man Johnny was there to meet us and carry both cases (at once) up all the stairs to our accommodation. The stairs are so steep here I think we’ll just push out suitcases down from the top on the way out. It’s such a quaint little town and so quiet at night when all the cruise ship day trippers head out. Got a great relaxing vibe. I have never seen so making hiking boots and hiking poles in one place in my life.
    Had way too much limoncello last night so spent the day thinking I was going to die and either sleeping or reading. Graham headed out to hike to the next town on his own. It’s four minutes on the train or 1 ½ hours up and down hills to hike. He looked shattered when he got back. I was still feeling like death so he hiked the other way to the next town, which took 2 ½ hours and he said was even harder than the previous hike. He caught the train back but once again it turned into an express so had a bit of a tour of the train stations trying to get back to Vernazza. All in all the day ended up quite good for me.
    We sat for ages last night eating gelato and watching people walk past a cat that was asleep on the path. Every person that went past would stop to pat the cat (which kept on sleeping) and take its photo. I was going to put a hat next to it and a sign asking for donations for cat food and I think that cat and I would clean up.
    Read more