Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Surviving Ramadan

    March 30 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    Ramadan didn't really affect me in Bali as it is mostly Hindu. But Makassar is very different. All cafes are closed in the morning until 1pm. So even though the breakfast at my hotel is hopeless, there is no alternative. So I needed to stock up on munchies to keep me going. Especially for the boat trip.
    The next problem is that most Indonesian munchies are so full of sugar, wheat and msg. And that's just the chips, corn chips and peanuts. The best, most natural food is in the souvenir shops. I've got so desperate Original Pringles are one if the best options.
    After 1pm the cafes are allowed to open but must have shutters or blinds so people can't see inside. I don't know if it is to stop people being tempted or to hide the ones who are.
    Then about 5pm or so, people arrive at cafes and order their food and wait for the call that the sun had set and they can eat.
    So Budi and I organize to have dinner after 7 to avoid the rush.
    Beautiful, fresh, grilled fish and seafood or last night we went to Chinatown.
    Read more