Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Departure

    February 28, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    So, we’re off. One might expect my small family to show some concern as to my solo departure?

    Not really.

    MrsHtD, who I love more than I can say, will probably appreciate some time without me getting underfoot so long as sufficient wood is chopped in advance. Even those you love need time apart and I’m very grateful that I’m given my own space not just without complaint, but with encouragement. ❤️

    Henry the (actual) Dog; my constant companion; was dropped off at the boarding kennels into which he ran without a glance backwards. This must be what it’s like to drop your kids off on the first day at school. 50% joy at their self confidence; 50% ‘ungrateful little sod’.

    Whatever. Henry the (actual) Dog’s got a couple of weeks of fighting with half the residents whilst trying to impregnate the other half. He’s 100% dog and second only in my affections to Mrs HtD.

    Arrival in Porto late on a Tuesday is like ‘Saturday night in Toledo, Ohio’; so off to bed with the prospect of a few hours to divide between God and Mammon in the morning before seeking out a train to Barcelos.

    For the statisticians: pack weight 7.5kg; skin-out weight 10.3kg (I wear boots and a high quality 3-layer goretex jacket). It’s not the’ skin-out’ weight which is my problem, it’s the ‘skin-in’.

    I should probably clarify that this is very much a trial run. Last year’s venture onto the Frances (ninth time on Camino) was affected by knee issues, which resulted in scans, consultations and a diagnosis of bilateral osteo-arthritis. 12 months of diet, exercise and physio later and I’m ready to try again. Best to start with an easy one, so fly to Porto; train to Barcelos for the huge weekly market, then train to Valença Two nights in, Tui then set off steadily to Santiago. Staying an extra day in Tui allows me to take a taxi 15k away from Santiago with no bag and stroll back.
    Read more