Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    I found the bus

    March 2, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 10 °C

    Not the most compelling headline in the world; but I am making progress

    Now then: the inter-modal transport hub that is Campanhā station…

    The long-distance bus terminal is easily found by ignoring anything which looks like a station entrance, heading through an unmarked side-exit in reverse which leads onto the metro platform for the airport; going left to the far end and down the sign-free escalator; along a 200m passage under the station and turning left away from the bus sign. I’m not sure if I’ve bought a bus ticket or applied for the Portuguese secret service.

    Slightly off topic: (yes, I know that’s unusual for me, but ..) I’ve been trying to charge a power-bank all day and it’s not worked. I’ve only just realised that I’ve been in a more upmarket hotel where you have to put your key-card in to put the power on, so of course it’s not charged whilst I’ve been out. I used to know that and use a supermarket loyalty card to bypass the system. Is this age related? In a similar vein, I now have to look at each glove to see what side the thumb’s on before I put it on - but even more - I how have look at each hand to check which side the thumb’s on as well. I’m a former member of MENSA; have a postgraduate degree and used to be on the board of one of the UK’s largest companies.

    Mrs HtD quite reasonably never allows me to use the remote control for the TV and Henry the (actual) dog looks petrified when I’m left in charge of remembering to feed him.

    Back to Portugal:

    I’ve never really liked long distance busses. It’s probably a childhood memory of the occasions when my paternal grandfather was deputed for infant childcare. I and my younger brother were placed on a Preston Corporation bus outside his house with a 4d (that’s pre-1972 UK money) return ticket to the terminus and told to sit still (unaccompanied) until he retrieved us nearly two hours later when returning back the other way. That gave him time for a couple of pints and to get his bets on without anyone finding us home alone. He’d have been locked up for that these days.

    Today it’s a question of ‘will I need to pee?’

    Well we’ll soon know.

    For the purists (which is why I’m not posting direct on Ivar’s forum!) there may be some actual walking on an actual Camino soon. Don’t hold your breath.
    Read more