Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Airlie Beach

    October 7, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    So after a loooooooooong bus ride, 18 hours... yeah that long. I arrived at Airlie Beach this morning.

    The bus ride wasn't to bad, got in alot of movie watching, electronic charging and reading done. And sleeping, got a full night of that. At some point in the middle of the night we made a stop. Don't know where but there is this famous kangaroo... check the photos and see why it was the best thing to see in the middle of the night.

    First thing I did, store my luggage. Second thing book a jet ski tour. So after a nice relaxing breakfast and a leisurely stroll around I hit the waters. And I do not regret it. No photos because well too busy having fun. It was so much fun. We went around the bay, and luckily got separated into two groups, I think I would have died in the other group. It was filled with tourist that could barely fill out the forms never mind operate a jetski. Anyhow I got put in the fun group and got to be right behind the guide. It's so much different driving one on the ocean vs the lake like I have before. It was pretty rough but I was able to keep up.. sorta... with the guide. I think I hit about 80km... the speed where you can't let go... yeah fun speed I think some call it. After a few shots of adrenaline... the guide said... "there ya go, there's the Canadian in ya coming out". Not sure what that means? Maybe Canadians are more adventurous.

    I've actually received quite a few comments about being Canadian today.. that little flag on my bag does wonders. A whole crew of backpackers were chanting "Canada" as I walked by.

    So after dinner with some people from the hostel. Back to the hostel to pack up. 7am check out for my Whitsundays tour.

    Got a bit of sun over the last few days... yay:) Looking slightly less white.

    👣's: 10318 - 7.98 km
    Read more