Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 8

    August 31, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Today once again started off with a 15 - 20 min walk back to the trail before starting.. the weather is fabulous for walking at 8 am..still really warm but not sunny, probably why so many people start before that…My first climb out of Estella took me past a blacksmith’s workshop, I couldn’t resist a quick look around as he had some amazing and intricate things as well as larger stuff.. bought a tiny Camino shell to add to my rucksack.. next up was the “wine fountain “ I mean, who doesn’t want red wine at 8.30 in the morning 😳.. that said, I did decide it would be rude to pass without a taste 😂
    There was a slight variation on route choices just after here, I chose to go “up and over”rather than the slightly longer “around “ route. Glad I did as it went along some fabulous forest tracks and it was nice to be in the trees for a while as I knew there was an 11km stretch coming up that would have no shade.
    Once again I passed through wheat fields, olive groves and vineyards. The last couple of hours was walking on a really loose gravelly surface, which did become a bit uncomfortable..
    i arrived in Los Arcos in good time, so decided to chill out in the square for a bit eating my nectarines .
    A couple of Aussie guys I’d passed earlier invited me to join them a bit later when they arrived. They told me all about their Camino journey and how they were really struggling, but starting to feel like they’re getting fitter. They’re not doing the whole thing as they’re off to Tuscany in 10 days ( I’m only a lot jealous!! ) as I was leaving, they invited me to join them for dinner this evening… as nice as it would have been, I’m not prepared to walk an extra 4km to do so.. I’m actually really looking forward to eating alone tonight….
    Read more