Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13

    September 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    Day 13, but day 12 actually walking… with it being a slightly longer section today, and because breakfast was at a different location ( can’t not have breakfast now that I’ve discovered it 😂 ) I left my accommodation a bit earlier than usual… I also had to find my way back on to the trail from breakfast 😬..
    So, setting off walking soon after 7.30 ( it’s pretty dark until then anyway ) it was absolutely freezing, my hands were so cold and I felt as though I had an ear infection 😱🥶.. I really should have stopped and put more layers on, but was convinced it would soon be really warm and so I should just walk a bit quicker to start with 😂
    About an hour later it was really pleasant, the sun had come up and my layers came off..
    Although it was quite a long one today, I preferred it to the last couple of days as there was a good bit of uphill and it was back into the trees and plantations for parts of it…. Going along one of the fire tracks there was a pop up stall selling drinks, snacks etc., and it was blasting out “ highway to hell” it did look a bit like that and made me chuckle. The downside being I had the song stuck in my head for the next hour!!!
    I passed a lot of my regular’s, a Polish guy I pass each day said today that he was fast, but I was faster, and the only person who ever overtook him.. it’s not a competition though!!!!
    Once again, must be the fourth or fifth time now, I was asked if I was from Sicily, and if it was the Sicilian flag on my rucksack! Time to check out the Sicilian flag! Wow.. who knew it was so similar to ours? I certainly didn’t!!
    At about 26 km I was just thinking about how some of the towns you go through have fantastic signs and directions, where as others you really have to concentrate, as it may just be the odd yellow mark on a curb stone or bin.. unfortunately, this brought to mind “each peach pear plum” it must beat least 15 years since I last read that to one of the boys… and i spent the next 4 Km trying to work my way through it!!! Maybe it’s time I put my headphones in!!😂😂
    I arrived in Atapuerca earlier than I thought I would, so a pint of my 2% lemon larger ( and a bottle of water ) was definitely on the cards before finding my accommodation..
    The meal tonight was again really nice ( I’m not too sure where my appetite has come from, I’m feeling a bit like Oliver and clearing my plate at most meals 😳 ) the hosts too are are a really lovely couple and the room is great. I’m really tired tonight, probably the food and red wine.. it’s rude not to have a glass, especially when they give me a whole bottle!!!
    Well I’m afraid it’s bedtime for me, I’m shattered, so it’s goodnight from me 😴.
    Read more