Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 19

    September 11, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Today has been the first day that I’ve felt a bit out of it.. a bit flat and a bit lonely.. i guess there was always going to be that one day..
    i had intended to start a bit later today, as it was a shorter day and a flatter one.. it didn’t really happen as everyone else banging their doors and clomping down the corridor, had me so awake that I thought I may as well get going…
    Today’s stage was a bit boring, nothing wrong with it, just long straight flat tracks through wheat fields for miles and miles, with no villages or stops for those that needed it.
    Some days it feels a little bit like a handicapped stage race and I’m always off scratch!!
    Before getting to the wheat fields, I went along a stretch that took me straight back to sitting on the wheel arch of the tractor ( no health and safety in those days 😬 ) with my Dad, cutting the grass and rowing it up for hay.. I wasn’t sure if the memory made me feel really happy or really sad.. but it did make me long for my Dad… amazing how smells and songs ( no songs involved on this occasion ) can evoke such strong emotions and memories…
    Although the stage was a bit monotonous, the weather was again absolutely fabulous, with not a cloud in the sky… it’s supposed to rain for the next 4!!!! Yes 4! day’s!!
    The village I finished in today was incredibly tiny.. another excuse for a guilt free reading session!!
    Dinner was early this evening..6.30.. Yes!!! Don’t know where my appetite has come from, but I was more than ready for dinner… tonight it was chickpea stew ( soup ) and then mackerel… just the mackerel.. no veg 😢 and I had to share my wine with Norbert.. yes, Norbert is staying at the same place and asked to join me !!!
    A bit of a down day ended on the up.. thanks Han, you made my day, and your support is so much appreciated 🥰
    Read more