Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Day 18

    September 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Fair to say I woke up feeling a bit tired this morning.. I’m no party popper and I love a good band!… but!.. 3am really is kind of late to finish playing… especially when I’m getting up soon after 6.. but hey ho…
    Waiting to go into breakfast .. it’s always a busy one.. a guy that had said hello last night at dinner, asked if I was going the whole distance… I said I was, asked if he was, he asked where I’d started, I said St John, asked where he had… he said Germany!! I sort of blurted / squeaked out WHAT 😮.. he then asked if he could join me for breakfast!! Feeling a tad rude about my response, I said yes of course!!😬
    Turns out, Norbert, from Bavaria, set off walking from Germany, to do the Camino!! He’s a bit tired ( really??!! ) and had lots if blisters.. but hoping to finish by the end of September as he’s flying back on 2nd October.. what a guy!!! I imagine I’ll catch up with him again ( he’s said he’s stayed in a few of the same places as me up to now??!.. who knew?! ) .. he’s staying in a monastery tonight and I’d love to hear about it.
    He must have seen my three legs on my rucksack as he seemed to know I was from the Isle of Man, and said it had always been a dream of his to have raced the TT, but it just hadn’t worked out.. what a small world we live in..
    The walk today wasn’t actually all that interesting, but it was just a fabulous morning to be out walking and appreciating how lucky I am to have the health and fitness to be able to do, and enjoy this walk. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky and it was just a feel good morning!
    If I’m totally honest, I had very low expectations of where I was to finish today, but, it’s a really lovely place, small, but absolutely vibrant and just so different from the last two places.
    It’s a little bit sad, but I got seriously excited that I count do laundry here too!! Showered, changed, laundry sorted, I went off for a wander around.. yep!! I ended up in a bar with a beer watching the last 59km of the penultimate stage if the Vuelta!
    My dinner this evening was at a different location to where I was staying…. VEGETABLES!! YES!!i had the most amazing plate of vegetables…I’m so hy.. it really is the small things…
    Read more