Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day one….

    August 25, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Well!!!! Today certainly lived up to expectations in being ridiculously hard… l’m not actually sure how long I was going, but it was over 7 hours.. my watch ran out of power at 43 km so the distance was more than I anticipated… I had a late start as I had to check in at the Cathedral Se to get my pilgrim passport stamped to start.
    It’s fair to say I’ve never ever sweated so much or had so many blisters, my feet are a mess, but on the plus side my rucksack didn’t rub me!! It’s the small things…
    Today’s walk wasn’t particularly scenic, an awful lot of cobbles and very rutted tracks ( hopefully the cause of the blisters ) the main problem today was the heat, it was 34 degrees and there was absolutely no shade at all… moaning over!!
    I had a fabulous breakfast in Lisbon before setting off. The signage out of Lisbon was pretty poor to say the least, but did actually improve further on. I only saw 2 other people that were on the Camino, unbelievable when I probably saw close to 100 on my first day last year… this one is definitely the route less travelled!!
    I think I drank 5 litres of water today and still struggled to produce a tiny wee when I’d reached my accommodation 😳
    Due to today’s distance and the fact I was feeling pretty rubbish at 30 km I stopped for some food and had the most amazing apple and spinach ice lolly!!
    All went pretty ok u til near the end when I went a bit wrong, all sorted but another kilometre added on…
    My accommodation is nice and I found somewhere nice to eat, though I didn’t really feel like eating.. though I did still manage a 🍺!!
    Anyway, I’m absolutely shattered and off to bed.. dreaming that tomorrow will be kinder…
    Read more