Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day Two

    August 26, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌬 26 °C

    Having done my whole walk in the sun yesterday I decided to start earlier today in the hopes of getting a bit done before it got too hot. Also due to the condition of my feet I anticipated it would take me longer than it should.
    It wasn’t very scenic at all really, a great deal was along the rail line and had to cross over it four times!!! No mean fest when You’re scared of heights and edge’s!
    Due to the earlier start nowhere was open for breakfast, so I decided to hopefully find somewhere an hour or two in.
    I was obviously more aware of the conditions underfoot today.. cobbles, gravel and rutted dirt tracks… mmmm..
    I reached Azambuja in good time, popped into a pharmacy for some plasters and then went for some lunch and a beer to investigate the state of my feet.. they had been pretty sore, so I wasn’t holding out too much hope… three more blisters, two pretty large and one average, plus my big toenail turning black!! Not sure what’s going on as I’ve never really had blisters before and don’t know how or why I am now.. the only thing out of the ordinary is my rather heavy rucksack. Maybe it’s making me walk differently,
    Hobbled to my accommodation and have pretty much stayed put as it was too uncomfortable to bother going out in search of food..
    Apologies for too much blister info.. I’m off to bed now in the hope that something miraculous happens overnight…
    Read more