Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Santa Marta

    April 1, 2022 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Back to a bigger city to manage to get a new phone and maybe even some shoes :)
    After renting a bike driving around the city I was bargaining on the street on again stolen phones, but I made the decision not to support what harmed me. So i went on to some official shops were after comparing and comparing I found a brandnew Motorola smart phone with acceptable camera, double sim and good battery for 400.000 Pesos ~ 100€.
    I stayed at Casa Avelina Hostel with pool and good internet to manage this pain in the ass of relaunching everything on Android. WhatsApp still doesn't work because the number can't get approved...
    While I was working there on my computer a salsa class started wich I joined immediately. Class 2 ✓

    Uplifted by dancing i went on to discover Santa Martas nightlife. The city was quite dirty. Trash everywhere and many homeless. The center was a bit cleaner but still on some streets I felt unsafe.
    I went to see the nice but more expensive Masaya hostel (the one I started my hellride from San Agustin to Cali) where a guy opened me the door. Jakob from Berlin *lol*.
    We went to the rooftop where we met his brother and some french girls. After a while we changed to La Brisa Hostel where a proper party was going on. A huge rooftop place with 2 floors and hundreds of travellers mixed with locals. Reggeatón, Salsa, Merengue, Bachata etc was played and we danced for some hours.

    After a while we wanted to see more of the city so we continued on the streets were many bars and clubs were open, but nothing attracted us.
    The guys went back and I went for some food, where I met a local wich helped me find a way and "protected" me for some money in exchange. He brought me to a small place where a grandmother prepared a rico sandwich for me 🤤.

    It was 3am and a taxi brought me home safe where I booked a recommended hostel in Cartagena for the next day.
    Now I am on the bus to there. Unfortunately the bus where I already parked my main luggage in, just drove away while I was getting a water 😳.

    The people there called the bus and he will hopefully drop it at the station in Barranquilla were I can get it back.

    Vamos a ver (let's see). I'm now 5 minutes from the station...

    GOT IT 😃😃😃

    Now off to Cartagena, in the first row as in the good ol days.

    Oh wait I have some random pictures...
    Read more