Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Puerto Escondido pt.2

    May 24, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Arriving back home at Limbo community we were again 10 people living there. The next day Juan and two girls from Germany would leave though, why we made a little farewell party.

    From next day on my beloved routine returned: Working in the morning till noon, preparing lunch, siesta, taking the collectivo bus down to the beach side where I always first check into la Punta Hostel to see if people are attending for the 8:30pm yoga class. From 5pm the more competitive 2vs2 "king of the court" start on the beach volley ground until 6:30 when more people would come and 2 more courts would be set up for the 4vs4 games.
    You would get to know so many people there because teams would always be switched.

    After playing until the sun went down I would come back to la Punta Hostel to do the class wich by time got better and better. In the second week I even earned my first money through yoga by doing the class donation based 🤑 With that I could feed myself easily and had almost 0 expenses.

    There were different events during the week like open mic night where I met all of the yoga and beach volley people again. Such a sweet community!

    At some point the rainy season started and it would rain in the evenings why I couldnt give any classes on the rooftop anymore. We did our private flows with Chelsey and the Limbo Family at home though.

    On the 30th of Mai we got the Info that a hurricane would hit Oaxaca. We didn't know what to expect so we bought food for several days and saved everything on the outside.
    There were only 5 of us left: Lito the one in charge, Kasper, Chelsey, Lærke from Denmark and me.
    It was literally the quiet before the storm. You could feel the changes of the air from warm to cold in very short periods, but still no big storm. We made it very cozy, cooked spaghetti al olio, played X-Box on a huge projector screen, had pancakes and just waited for it to begin.
    Nothing happened as we went to bed.
    At 4:30 in the morning I woke up by wind howling, the dogs barkin and the cocks crowing. All the animals got nervous and so did I... I stood up tried to calm the dogs and myself and went back to sleep. Next morning around 8 I woke up again went out and saw that nothing big happened. There was just a lot of rain, wich also dripped through the roof into our room. Ok first wave survived 😅

    Kasper had a bus ticket for Mexico city, but all the public transportation was shut down he realised. Even the internet didn't work in the whole area. So he came back and had to change his flight.
    To the evening the weather got rougher and the streets got flood, when we curled back into storm mode.

    Nothing happened!
    The next morning was super calm when I got onto the roof and sang R.Kelly's - The storm is over 🌪️🎶

    I brought Kasper to the Bus Terminal and got myself a night ticket to Oaxaca.

    The 21 day stay at my happy place were over and I was ready to start my last month of travelling. I am looking so much forward to see all of you guys again 💚

    But first 10 hours Bus to Oaxaca city then 5 hours to Puebla (where I meet Miguel, the person who did a language exchange programme with my cousin Tim when we were maybe 12? Caro please correct me 😋.

    From there I will drive to Mexico city where I am meeting old friends: Cesar, who did Erasmus with me in Istanbul. Silvana wich I met partying in Berlin. Alice a friend of friends wich I also met in Berlin. And Nico a fellow student of Mario.

    On the 7th of June I will fly out to Miami to stay at my old class and roommate Slotty, who lives in West Palm beach for the last 3-4 years and works as a soccer coach there.
    Read more