Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    West Palm Beach

    June 7, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    As I walked out the airport, to the Tri Rail Train Ride to West Palm beach where Julian lives, this humidity hit me right in the face. The weather forecast predicted rain and thunder storms every day, wich turned out to appear only occasionally.
    It was a complete different world from what I experienced the last 5-6 months.
    After an hour drive in this air conditioned train with WiFi, Julian picked me up in a black sports car when we drove to his home in this gated community wich also had a gym and a big pool. He lives together with his girlfriend Mikaela (25yo American/Puerto Rican) and the three other roommates Sebastian, Marvin and Sarah in this beautiful 3 floored house, where I got a place to sleep on the big living room couch.
    Mission was clearly discover the all American experience and dive completely into this culture.

    In the evening they brought me to two of the biggest Supermarkets around (Costco & Target) where they invited me to pick EVERYTHING I want to try. The markets were just massive and the selection was endless. Fully loaded we couldn't pass my first American Slice of Pizza wich was 🤤

    West Palm beach is just as the name suggests full of palmtrees, nice beaches and CRAZY CARS. Car models I have never seen before in my life. Tesla's are just a normal thing over there and these huge trucks wich could pull 100 cows are also all over.

    Mikaleas parents live next to a golf course, were we went quite recently. A huge 18hole course with in the middle of this pretty wealthy neighborhood.

    Julian is a soccer coach wich trains several teams and in the off season he gives private classes. It was just about off season when I arrived, but one of his under 14-girlteam won the league so they played in the regional playoffs wich took place in Greensboro, North Carolina.
    Julian, Mikaela and me decided to drive there 11hours by car through Georgia and South Carolina so I could see the landscape.
    We got a room in The Grandover Golf and spa resort wich was completely payed by the club. I got smuggled in as the designated Yoga & stretching instructor...
    Read more