Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22–23

    Nippazzano Winery

    October 3, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    Today, we left our wonderful villa in Tuscany. We had a great, final day yesterday and will miss our lovely view more than we know. The only thing I won't miss is the bug bites that I was the only one to receive or the buzzing in my ear in the dark. We took the winding back roads of Chianti to go to Greeves, then to Nippazzano. Up and down, sharp turns, making me feel like I never wanted this wonderland ride again. That nauseous feeling did not sit well. We arrived at Nippazzano by 1:30 p.m. but couldn't check in till 3. Off we all went in search of food. To be honest, I am not feeling hungry, but we don't know when we will receive our next meal. We stopped at il Quartino, a burger gourmet. Lunch was only good because we hadn't had a burger or fries in a month. Bernie had ribs that just didn't have flavor, but they were meaty. The white wine we had was refreshing, only because it was cold. We are currently waiting for our tour of Nippazzano Winery. We started our tour, and Ron was like a kid in a candy store. He was at his favorite everyday wine, winery. The tour was the same as the others, but this time, we saw them harvesting and starting the process. The tasting was on a whole other level, and remember how we didn't know when our next meal was coming. It has come too soon. We had three different wines, two reds and a white to taste from their different wineries. The snack plate was a mixture of meat and cheeses, petite canapés, bread, and olive oils. Our accommodations are a renovated olive oil mill. Rustic yet having modern touches. I have my own room with a canopy bed,my own bathroom, a view for miles, and the little touches that my life can't afford. I am soaking these moments in and lavishing them as long as I can. The evening was spent soaking in the pool, drinking Nippazzano wine, lemoncello spritzs, and capturing our last Tuscan sunset over the mountain terrain. It was on fire, unlike us. Sleep was awesome and deep. I awoke from the knock at the door before the alarm. Have to admit I want to stay in bed. After getting dressed, I walked into the main living area to two women, cooking us breakfast. I take it in as this is my normal, what was promised to me so many times. Instead, I earned this as part of my hard work to travel here. I really don't want this to end. We all enjoyed our breakfast to its fullest. I say Nippazzano winery has spoiled us and treated us like kings and queens, money well spent. Now we have an adventure to get to Sorrento.Read more