Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Argentinian Brewery

    November 26, 2016 in Argentina ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Spent my first day in Buenos Aires getting settled. I did get ripped off at the airport, mostly because I was so nervous about being ripped off I went to the first official looking booth I could find and accidentally ordered a private car instead of a taxi. Whoops.

    The driver asked me what I thought of Donald Trump. 😩🔫

    It was raining hard all afternoon, and I wandered around for a little while then spent three hours in an art museum. Gorgeous art, but I think Italy spoiled me for life, I don't feel like I'll really be impressed ever again.

    The exchange rate here is 15 pesos to $1, which is a lot of hard math. They also use the $ sign so everything looks really expensive even though it's cheap. $80 for a beer is only about $5 USD.

    Buenos Aires is a huge city with a new York vibe and Italian style. No one speaks more than a few words of English. I have literally never been anywhere in the world where they speak so little English. I absolutely have to go practice.

    Tonight I'm going to see a Tango dinner show and they told me I was reserving one of two remaining tables in the whole show. I suggested that since I'm alone I wouldn't mind being seated with another party. An American couple happened to be passing.

    Husband: honey aren't we going to that Tango show later? She can sit with us! She's ALONE.

    Wife: No she can't, stop talking to random people on the street.

    It was really awkward.
    Read more