Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Towns and villages of Amalfi

    May 16, 2019 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    Started the day off by walking from Salerno to Vietri Sul Mare. The views are amazing looking back at Salerno. The village of Vietri Sul Mare is known for its ceramics. After a brief look round I got the bus to the next village which is Cetara.

    Cetara is made up of a few houses around a domed church. Very pretty fishing village known for its tuna fishing.

    The weather is glorious so i decided to go to Amalfi by bus to relax on the beach for 2-3 hours

    In the afternoon I travelled to the town of Maiori, it seemed to have more space than the town of Amalfi. The Main Street was a wide boulevard. The main reason to travel to Maori was to do the lemon trail. The lemon trail is a short hike to the next town/village of Minori, the trail goes high into the hills passing all the lemon groves.

    At the end of 5he day I walked back to Maiori from Minori, a 10 minute walk via the road. From Maiori I got the ferry back to Salerno. The journey was excellent unlike the ferry ride I had a few days earlier

    My last full day before travelling to Rome tomorrow morning. I have seen a lot in the Amalfi Coast, but there are still lots I want to see such as Sorrento and Capri amongst other places, I think that is a reason to look at coming back next year, probably having Salerno asa base again
    Read more