Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Kruger, the lucky goodbye drive

    February 8 in South Africa ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    Not sure if you’ve kept count of animals I saw in the past days, I did and I was clearly missing the rhino from my big 5 list. Since it’s only a few rhinos in the park and they typically hang out in another part of Kruger, I totally accepted my fate that I’ll have to come back another time to see one but then, the magic of Kruger struck again… my original plan was to do a sunset drive after half-a-day of work but the weather was so cloudy that it was not worth it, so Devon came to my rescue and offered to take me out for a final little ride to Kruger as a goodbye (or see-you-later 💖). We were just leaving the hostel when I was saying that it’s only the rhino I need to see but the chances are very low when Devon stopped the car and yelled: there’s the rhino!!! WHAT???? He joking??? He wasn’t, there it was, literally 50 meters from the hostel by the fence 🥹🥹 I was shaking and shed some tears for the unexpected surprise, it was unreal!!! Devon was probably a shaman in his previous life and pulled all strings to make my stay unforgettable 🫶🙏 We then drove out to the park, saw some zebras, giraffes, impalas, gnus, just the usuals, some lions in the distance, and said goodbye to the park. Un-freaking-believable! 🥹🥹🥹🦏Read more