Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Last day in France - temps cool YAY

    September 13, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Early morning for me and Beth today… just can’t sleep in at the moment.
    We had a leisurely breakfast (some of us) and then off to town for cafe au lait and brekkie for Kel and Lou. Afterwards I opted to return to the apartment for some relax time, get my feet right and just have some time to myself. So the rest of this post is by Kelly…

    Much cooler today, yipee! Wandered the elegant streets of Reims, it really is beautiful, clean, scented roses blooming. Traffic still a little crazy and of course we always look the wrong way, risky! We have disappointed ourselves for the lack of shopping, me not so much but I am traveling with 3 black belts so a little surprising. Visited the Reims cathedral which is incredible, 34 French kings and queens have been crowned there. Reims looks totally original to me but it was bombed badly during the 2nd world war but has been beautifully restored, so you wouldn’t even know. We visited Maison Mumm, very simple in comparison to Pommery, like Burger King to French Cafe, you could say the product is the same? We had a lunch after being turned away from a couple as they closed for food at 1.30!! It was ok but have to say the food and service is not as good as Paris. The gorgeous young things are a little scathing of us old birds. No tips for them! We had done enough for the day, we have food at home and have a V early start, so home dinner, just a platter (gourmet of course) and plenty of champagne. Tomorrow is a travelling day, we arrive in Roma late afternoon and of course the priority is finding a bar with the rugby on, we are hoping the boys will manage against Namibia, God willing. I know Roma will be 4 crazy days, a new experience for Disey who of course wants to do everything! Then to Valencia for a pool/beach holiday, relaxing, woohoo, over and out xxxxxx

    Me again…some more photos of our neighbourhood. We have had some hilarious moments here…Louise doesn’t fail to surprise and gobsmack me at time, from her fantastic communications in french, to her Keilyisms of words that seem to rise up in bubbles above her head for me… Frencharony, there seems to be a ‘arony’ added to many things. Makes me laugh often.

    Beth has got us on Vodka and Water - good for the waistline and I like it.
    See ya in Rome, I cannot wait!
    Read more