Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Au Revoir Paris, Ciao Rome

    September 14, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    It was an early wakeup from Susie that got us all moving at 6am. Showered dressed and packed and downstairs with the suitcases by 6.45 to wait for the arrival of 2 taxi’s at 7 to take us to the train station in Reims. Feet were getting twitchy by 10 past, we were all pissed off, so Kelly and I each ordered an uber. And wouldn’t you know it they arrived at 7.13 with one of the taxi’s turning up. He was given the short shift by all, and off we got into the Ubers. alighted at Gare Du Nord and on to the train. quick ride back to Gare du L’est in Paris and then decided rather than try and negotiate two more trains to Orly Airport we would hop into an uber…we do love the Mercedes Vans. Traffic was horrendous once again but our driver managed to get around the hoards of cars.
    Orly is HUGE, sat down and finally had some breakfast and coffee. Off to catch our flight… no buso on this one though 😢 and we didn’t purchase the Speed lane, so had to line up to get on.
    Nice little trip to Rome, I had an American guy sitting next to me, he thought I was Australian! Put him straight on that one.
    Grabbed another Uber to take us to our apartment and along the way my heart just about lept out of my chest when I saw what I thought was the colosseum, but no thats just a little one madam, the proper one is just along here, look right when we go around the corner! WOWOW there it was. I have wanted to see it all my life. Had a few tears in my eyes I can tell you.
    Finally arrived at our apartment where we were met by our host, fabulous guy, took us inside, up the lift! yay we have one, and proceeded to give us a lesson on the famous landmarks and their vicinity to our new home. funny chap but he had filled the fridge with a beer, bottle of Prosecco, milk, muffins and gluten free twisties that Beth was thrilled to see.
    Its an older building but really cool too. Few little quirky things. Susie was fascinated by the cornflake dispenser so hammed it up. She has never seen one before.
    Kel had told me about one place she has stayed in before that had a toilet in the shower which seemed very weird…and yep we have one here too. Its a second toilet though so we aren’t moaning. As the saying goes… you can have a shit, shave and shower…all at the same time 🤪
    Had a wee rest then off out for dinner, gorgeous food, I had the oxtail stew, and it was YUM.
    Ps we shopped on our way to dinner, 2 doors down from our apartment, 3 of us bought linen dresses, happy as can be.
    Home now, aircons are all on, its hot again in Rome.
    Tomorrow will be me exploring all the wonderful historical places I have had on my bucket list. I cannot wait. Hoho bus will be booked for us to see this beautiful city, and for an extra day for me so I can go explore the sites on my own. The other girls have been here before so the excitement for them has faded to visit them again.
    Internet is a bit sketchy here so even though I tried to post it last night, I had to wait to the morning.
    Read more