Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 15

    Valencia is a delight

    18 Eylül 2023, Ispanya ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    Farewelled Rome with a leisurely start, packed, repacked and tried to distribute things through carry on and big bag… hmmm and I haven’t bought anything.Our lovely host Aldo let us check out at noon so that was really great as I flights weren’t till 4.30pm, but we decided to go straight to the airport and hang out there.
    We were able to check our bags through early as well, although there was a slight raising of blood pressure when the girl said, that my little backpack, which i was using as my handbag was all I had paid for, that is considered the one small bag you could have…. jesus wept. I said I have my cabin bag which she made me put in the measure thing…I tell ya I jammed that baby in … and ended up saying well I will just put my ‘handbag’ inside it. Susie had to pay for her cabin bag. The girl had said if you get to the gate with the incorrect baggage for your ticket you will pay 69 euro for it. Ryan Air your descriptions on the ticket are a; confusing and b; bullshit!
    anyhoo off we go to our fast track security, boarding passes on my phone cos she wouldn’t print the bloody things, so I have to go thru pass back my phone to the next little monkey, didn’t work, had to ask for help! Blood pressure back up at that point….
    Finally made it through and upstairs to the Priority Lounge that Kel and I have passes for, and we could take a guest each. Almost overflowing with people but managed to snag seats, two together and two in another part…so waving across the room was frequent. Food wasn’t much to be recommended but the coffee was good and wine seemed to be okay as well.
    Decided I couldn’t fit anything else in the cabin bag, so succumbed and bought the upgrade to my ticket, just a mere 38.99 euro…bastards.
    Then we go to line up and there are people getting on with backpacks, and handbags… not in the priority lane where you can have two items… that girl was probably laughing up her sleeve.
    Easy trip to Valencia, little snoozes had, videos watched and books read and then we were here. Fastest landing with a huge bump on the runway but we made it.
    Grabbed a cab and on our way to our absolutely delightful home for the next 8 days. We were met by Oscar our host, lovely chap, very enthusiastic of having NZ guests, and very proud of his home. Kel and Beth kept the taxi and went back to do grocery shop as we don’t think we will venture too far from here actually, its just so nice. Oscar went and picked them up after showing Susie and I the run of the house. And being the first here….we got to choose which of the 5 bedrooms we wanted 😆.
    We aren’t close to Valencia, its a bus ride away, but the smaller village of L’Eliana has just as good shopping and restaurants Oscar tells us.
    Did I mention the pool area?? oh my goodness it is delicious.
    The girls arrived back with a truck load of food, all of which we are looking forward to eating, sausages, bacon, chicken, fruit, salads, cheeses, wine, crackers and anything else we fancied.
    Everyone ecstatically happy with our new abode. Platter made, wine flowed, lemoncello shots had, and then I just had to get in that pool. 10pm swim was so delicious.
    Might be a bit quiet for the next few days, book reading, relaxing and enjoying the pool is the wishlist for a little while.
    Okumaya devam et