Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Tue Oct 11, 12:30pm: Lunch near Niagara

    October 11, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 64 °F

    We got up bright and early (-ish) and headed off for Niagara Falls. Russell and I have never been, even to the American side, so this should be quite exciting.

    Before we got on the road, I checked the map and I was SHOCKED to find out that Niagara Falls is pretty much south of Toronto. I thought it was pretty much east. And yes, I did take the train through there just the other day. I just hadn't looked at a map.

    When I say I am geographically challenged, I am not kidding.

    Just before we got to the falls themselves, we stopped for lunch. I got a combination of two Canadian specialties: poutine with peameal bacon on it. Poutine is traditionally french fries covered with cheese curds and brown gravy. Peameal bacon is pork loin rolled in cornmeal. I'm not sure it is any better than other ham products, but it's kind of a big deal in Toronto, so I wanted to try it. It was incredibly filling and pretty tasty.

    Once we were all fueled up for the trip, we tried to leave, but we had to wait for a cargo ship to pass the drawbridge that was open. After a short delay, we were on our way.
    Read more