Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Goodbye South Korea

    November 3, 2017 in South Korea ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    I checkout of the hotel and wait for the 7 or 7-1 bus back to Sokcho. A fellow hotel patron is also headed to the bus station. He's from the Philippines, in South Korea for a fortnight. We continue to chat at the back of the 7 bus, where my megaluggage won't impede/kill other people.

    We disembark and I farewell him at the bus terminal. I have 40 minutes to kill before my bus leaves so I roll to a nearby cafe for a quiet cafe. Back later to the bus terminal, I walk on to the bus bound for Dong Seoul bus terminal and we arrive there without incident.

    I take the green line metro from Dong Seoul bus terminal to Hongik University station, where I have a reservation for a place called "Deborah House". I'm supposed to contact their staff before I arrive, but I haven't done that. So it turns out that Deborah House is more of a concept than a physical location. I enlist the help of a local to call them, and I'm directed into a tower building called Magellan. The manager comes walking in out of the rain (which enhances the experience) and takes me upstairs to my room (406). Which hasn't been cleaned, even though it's after 2 and checkin is from 1.

    I reviewed this place in Booking.com, so won't reiterate the other problems. Fortunately it has stopped raining so I decide to go back to "Gustan Taco" for old time's sake. It's around a 15 minute walk, I chat to the owner once again and have a pork burrito bowl.

    I am flying out of Gimpo airport the next day. It is on the Airport line along with the main airport (Incheon). It is a convenient way to travel, although it is a fair hike from the train station to the International terminal. At least it is all under cover and well signed.

    I have made a boo-boo and left my Swiss Army knife in my carry-on luggage. This is picked up in security screening so I have to go back to the check-in counter. My knife goes in a small box that will go on board with all other checked baggage. It's only an inconvenience as I have plenty of time.

    The flight itself to Tokyo's Haneda airport is less than 2 hours. Not much point in watching a movie on-board. We will get fed, which is a good thing as it will take quite some time to clear immigration and customs at Haneda.

    The plane takes off at 12:20, and I wave goodbye to South Korea. Thanks for having me ☺
    Read more