Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 190

    Shells and fossils, fossils and shells

    July 9, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I was researching somewhere to go shell collecting in Darwin when I came across Gunn Point, it looked promising.

    Brett said it was going to be another Lauren’s adventure, which are always unsuccessful 😕.

    It looked like we were going to run out of time any way, so I stopped thinking about it. After a trip to the prospecting shop I was keen to head out there. The man in the shop had said you can collect 500 year old fossils off the beach! I started researching again.

    Unfortunately for Brett and the kids the go cart place was shut, but luckily for me this opened up a spot in our calendar to go to Gun Point 🤗🤗🤗.

    We headed to the exact location the man in the shop told us, and I was in shell heaven! It was not long before Brett found the first fossil! (I was distracted by all the shells, it had been a while). It then became a competition to see who could find the best one fossil, we were all finding pretty good ones. There were even a few shells there we had not seen and collected before!

    Oh and we saw our first Jabiru.

    I have to say, it was finally a successful ‘Lauren’s Adventure’ 🤗🤗
    Read more