Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 234

    Agate Creek

    August 22, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Four days of fossicking heaven.

    I told Brett I wanted to check out Agate Creek, he said “yea sure, we can do that!”. I left out the part where we had to drive nearly 100km of dirt to get there 😮😬🤗. But after he found out, he was still keen. A few hours later we made it there, with Brett saying “after that massive drive we are staying here at least 3 nights!” Well that suited me.

    The camp ground was empty, we pulled up right next to the dry river and set up camp, I had a quick look and was excited to be on the river, I could spend all day wondering up and down looking for agates🤗.

    We ventured out and checked out a few spots deciding where we would head in the morning for our first fossick.

    We were after some large thunder eggs, but these were seeming a bit hard to get, and there was holes everywhere, no-where to start fresh. We decided to go and find some smaller pieces. The kids ( and Brett and I ) were having so much fun, the smaller agate eggs were easy to dig out and we were seaming to find plenty.

    After 3 days of digging, we had a pretty big bucket full, it was time to wash and cut some open. We found some beautiful pieces, some with the lines of colour and some with crystal caves.

    We are heading home, with a bucket of agate in tow, I can not wait to purchase myself a tumbler and polish these babies up.
    Read more