Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 5 Puenta la Reina to Estella

    April 21 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    Puente La Reina to Maneru to Curaqui to Lorca to Villatuerta to Estella. 15 miles in 6.5 hours. 36,726 steps. Today was a beautiful sunny day, with 2 steep hills and several smaller hills in between. Sensing a theme? The countryside was beautiful, with some olive trees, huge fields of mustard plants, and bright red poppies all along the path. Passed more cute towns and some huge churches that looked like mini fortresses. Oddly enough, churches were closed to visitors on Sunday, other than at mass time. So were pretty much all stores and restaurants until we got to Estella. Thank goodness for a few Albergues on the way with sandwiches and tortillas. Estella had 3 restaurants and one tiny market open.

    Stayed in a nice albergue in the “glamping” section, but had an interesting night of little sleep. First a large group of New Zealanders were partying until 1 am on the patio outside my window, and then the woman below me had night terrors twice with a lot of whimpering and 2 bloodcurdling screams that woke us all in panic and brought the hospitalerio in checking things out. then she left at 4:30 am and another person at 5:30 am, both making little effort to be quiet. Insult to injury, she took my socket adaptor when she left (I let her plug into it along with my phone cord). I’m glad I brought my power bank since it’s not something I can buy until I’m in a bigger city in 2 days. Karma got her though because she left 2 pairs of socks and underwear and a pair of pants behind. In all seriousness, I hope she’s ok.

    Tomorrow is a big day at 17.5 miles and more big hills, so I’m off to bed shortly.
    Read more