Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Rainbow Mountain - the trek

    August 12, 2022 in Peru ⋅ ☀️ 2 °C

    One of my main reason for coming to Peru, apart from the Inca Trail, was to visit Rainbow Mountain. I was so pleased that I managed to get there.
    It was a tough day - wake up at 2.30am for a 3am pick up, a freezing cold bus 3.5 hour ride, and then a difficult 2-hour hike up at high altitude. At 5,200 meters (17,060 feet) above sea level, Rainbow Mountain’s altitude is more than half that of Mount Everest. The trailhead starts at around 4,300 meters.
    Our guide set off apace, encouraging us all stick together in one group. Easier said than done! The path was simple enough but at this altitude, even 10 steps feels like you're at the end of a long run, struggling to get enough breath. By the time we got to the very top, there was a long flight of steps and I had to sit down every three. Once I got back down to the start I felt headachey and nauseous until we descended another 500m.
    But - I got there! And it was worth it! One of the most beautiful things I have seen in Peru - and there have been a lot 🤩
    Read more