Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Riding in the rockies

    June 1, 2022 in Canada ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Day 1: Banff - Revelstoke - new denver
    Day 2: New Denver - kaslo - balfour - kootenay Bay - creston - Cranbrook- Fernie

    Didn't take nearly as many photos as I should, but the roads and views were outstanding.

    I met Pat on the Balfour ferry, were heading the same way so rode together for the day and found a camping spot in the rockies. He spent all evening insisting I eat his food, drink his beer and sit in his chair... I didn't put up much of a fight.

    Temperatures seriously dropped overnight down below freezing and it became pretty clear why the thicker more expensive sleeping bag that I didn't buy because I wanted to save $15 might not have been a terrible purchase.

    Great to ride for the day with someone, he's put me in touch with a friend of his (Ian) in calgory that I'm now in touch with. He's sorted me out some heated gloves and a few other bits I needed and he's buying me dinner tomorrow... he was annoyed at himself for not having anough space at home to give me a bed for the night 😂

    Ooohhh also we saw a moose... well Pat saw a moose, I missed it... but that still counts right??

    Tonight I'm eating a veggie burger with a side salad. No meat, no chips, no grease... the most green thing I could find on the menu! Still a burger though!
    Read more