Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Alaska ride day 3: Pink mtn- watson lake

    June 5, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    This road is incredible, it has taken the top spot on my all time favourite roads list (not a real list, but if it was this would be top).

    The road itself is pretty uninteresting but the experience of riding it is insane. A combination of the views, the vastness of the country, the wildlife, and even just the loneliness makes it such a mind blowing experience. Where else can you find a road that takes 5 days to drive, where you have no phone signal (everrrrrr!!!!), you set off in the morning tackling 100 miles at a time, nor knowing where the next fuel stop is or where you'll sleep that night. Its terrifying and exciting all at the same time.

    The views today were extraordinary. Heavy rain this morning eventually cleared to reveal a backdrop of the northern rockies, lakes a bright blue from the minerals (sulphur??) And so much wildlife!!! I do however have a new rule for bears. No more stopping to take photos of them, much safer to just keep riding past! I've been warned they can be pretty unpredictable out here so best not to chance it by shoving a camera in their face! They're also mich bigger in northern bc than southern!

    On the one hand I don't want this road to ever end, on the other hand I'm looking forward to the comfort of civilisation... in the meantime I guess I've still got 3 long days of riding before I get to another proper town or city!

    460 miles done today. Sunset was 11.15pm... thats just getting silly.
    Read more