Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Alaska ride day4. Watson lk - haines jct

    June 6, 2022 in Canada ⋅ 🌧 9 °C

    Didn't cover as many miles today as I'd hoped but enjoyed the company of Al and Jim for another day amd should still get to fairbanks tomorrow with an earlyish start.

    Probably only did about 380 miles today but saw some great scenery and stopped for an hour at signpost forest. I have also encountered the famous Yukon mosquitos... there are billions and billions of them. The second I stop my bike they swarm around me, climbing into my helmet, up my sleeves, down my jacket. And they're huge, a couple of times I've found myself wondering whats dripping down the back of my head only to realise its my blood from where a big mossie has got me!

    Had a great time in the middle of the day, waiting for the pilot car to take us past the road works we collected about 20 other bikers, all at the front of the queue. So once we were allowed to go we had a huge group of bikers all riding together through the gravel, so much fun!! I'm getting a huge amount of appreciation for skippy, everyone else is on big adventure bikes, Africa Twins or BMW GS's. One group even came up to me and said "huge respect for you doing this ride on a little 500 duuuuuddeee... thats awesome"... I felt like a proud dad next to skippy 😂

    Ride with Jim and Al all the way to their sisters and then used her Internet and phone to find accomodation for tonight. Didn't use it though as it looked like a dump and the place up the road was $20 more but actually looked good, so I voted for that one.
    Read more