Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Mystery road to Lysebotn

    August 8, 2022 in Norway ⋅ 🌧 8 °C

    This was my last day to explore so that's what I did, there was a little road I'd seen on Google maps that looked like it could be worth a look so despite being an hour and a half off my route down a road that only gets to a dead end off I went.

    The road was spectacular, twisting and turning through mountains before reaching 8km of back to back hairpins working down from the mountains to a small town at the bottom.

    The sun was shining and it was a wonderful reminder of why seeing the world on my bike is undoubtably the best feeling in the world... I needed that reminder after 2 or 3 very miserable days.

    I finished the day hunting around this amazing road for a good place to pop the tent for a night. It was beginning to look like all the good spots were taken and I might have to just find a roadside patch of grass when I spotted a little road turning off, this then became a dirt road that steeply (scary when you can't switch off the ABS!!!) took me down to a little lake, with a little waterfall and a fantastic camping spot with incredible views!!

    I did end up with some company for the night, a German pair of lads and a German couple had both had the same idea as me. So we finished off my beers and their homemade banana wine around a fire.
    Read more