Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 131

    Ha Long Bay Vietnam. Morning

    May 24, 2023 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    About a month ago, I had a toothache and inflammation of my gum. When we were in Mumbai, India, I purchased an antibiotic and after few days I was feeling better and the swelling wend down.
    Yesterday the mild toothache came back. I went to the ship doctor, but he would not give me more antibiotics.
    I had no choice, but go to a local dentist in Ha Long Bay, Vietnam.
    Yesterday was day at sea, so I had time to find dentist not too far from the port, send them a message and got a reply with 9:00am appointment.
    The ship was cleared only after 9:00am instead of 8:30am. We took a taxi to the office and without waiting a minute, I was taking by a nice nurse.
    The communication was thru translation on the phone.
    I had a 3d panoramic x-Ray and she explained to me that the one of the roots of the tooth broke.
    The best solution is extraction. I agreed.
    I was taken upstairs to a very modern office and immediately three more assistants showed. Also a doctor. The blood pressure was taken and preparation started. Thirty minutes later my tooth was gone. Another 3d x-Ray. All looked good.
    We went downstairs and the nurse explained about all medications I have to take. All was labelled and nicely packed.
    I gave them my credit card, but for some reason their machine was not working.
    After trying multiple times, offered to take money from ATM and pay cash. Unfortunately, there was no ATM close by.
    The next thing…..one of the nurses offered me to go with her to the ATM. What I did not realise, we have to ride a motorcycle.
    They put a helmet on me, shows me how to get on motorcycles and we went. The ride was not too long, May be 4 blocks.
    I did not know how much money i should withdraw, so I took the maximum, which is was 2 millions.
    When we came back, the bill was 1 mil 700 thousand. I paid cash, got my medicine and we went outside to get a cab back to the ship. At the terminal, we had ice coffee and ice chocolate and came back on the ship. Then I calculated the charges. The whole thing is…..$71. Hahaha 😝.
    Back on the ship I need a little rest before going to a special event in the cave.
    Read more