Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Ich lebe in Berlin

    October 7, 2023 in Germany ⋅ 🌬 17 °C

    Hallo! I’ve been living in Berlin now for one week (it is currently October 14) so here is my summary and review of things so far:
    1. Our flight was cancelled from London to Berlin, so we ended up having to change airports. That turned travel day into a really really long day.
    2. Our first day in Berlin, one of our leaders Chris bought us all croissants and cappuccinos. Super yummy. Also I live directly above a coffee shop so I go there all the time. Today I ordered completely in German and answered all the baristas questions in German (what kind of milk, for here or to go, cash or card, etc). Yay.
    3. We went on a 3 hour boat tour of Berlin. No boat tour should ever be that long in my opinion. It was also all in German so I understood nothing except at the end when they said auf wiedersehen.
    4. That night we went to the light festival where they light up all of the big buildings including political buildings and museums.
    5. I was in a horrid mood the first few days here so that is why there is a picture of me sitting by myself on the tram. I put in my airpods and listened to music to make myself happier. Sometimes just hearing other people’s voices made me annoyed. That is definitely a me problem and not a them problem. And it’s better now.
    6. We travelled to Leipzig and went to a peace prayers service at a church for the 34th anniversary of a peaceful protest march where 70,000 people marched on october 9, 1989 for the freedom of those in east germany. Soon after, the berlin wall fell. The church played a big part in this. We couldn’t understand the German service, but did participate in Vater Unser (the Lord’s prayer) since we all know it in German now.
    7. We found peppa pig on the Berlin Wall
    8. Döner is so yummy it’s my new favorite food. Sarah loves it too.
    9. I found out my host family for my German Homestay (I’ll be there for 3 weeks starting October 23 while I’m studying at the German language school). I included a picture that I think is her. She’s a personal trainer. Her husband is a judge. They have a private lake. Apparently I have the rich family homestay. We shall see.
    10. Tyler comes to visit on Wednesday, and Im stoked. He’s meeting Sarah, Mitchell, and I in Prague. We’ll be there through Sunday for our fall break. Also today marks 5 years of us dating woohoo🤍
    Read more