Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    End of Germany Pt 1

    October 16, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    October 16- Grace, Rory, and I travelled to our homestay just to make sure that we didn't have any trouble finding the house. Our home is located an hour northwest of central Berlin. The small town is beautiful. It is quiet, full of trees, and our house backs up to a lake (actually a sea). We will live there starting October 22.
    October 17- our group travelled to Ravensbrück Concentration Camp Memorial. This camp was not a death camp, but was a work camp that primarily hosted women. I included 6 pictures of the camp. It is eerie how extremely beautiful the location is. There is a lake, there are many trees, and it is very quiet. It is hard for me to imagine the horrors that took place here. I was especially moved by the exhibit they had on women guards at the concentration camps. I found myself asking How? and Why? It is deeply sad and angering, but I was glad to visit the site after learning more about German history.
    Read more