Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Omaha nebraska

    April 12, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 0 °C

    Weather: Sunny and 30s
    States: Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa and Nebraska
    Miles: 747
    Hours: 10 hours and 22 minutes
    Capitals: Drove through Lansing
    University Campus:Creighton University Omaha
    Restaurant: Cottage Inn Pizza
    Hotel/Home: Springhill Suites Marriot
    Movies:
    Audible: A Phone call from Heaven by Mitch Albom

    Paul and I began the last hour before our departure with the usual scramble of gathering, shoving, remembering forgotten things, consoling shaking dogs that think we are abandoning them and cleaning up the house. Kind of like when you are moving to a new house. Except, our new (but temporary) home has four wheels, captain chairs with Sparty printed on the headrests and a 26 inch tv. We raced to grab a pizza (cheese pizza of course-Lent) on the way to pick the kids up at school. I had them pack the night before. Don’t forget your toothbrush, socks, and bathing suit. Did you put all your shoes in the car? After all that.... Oh crap!! I am the one who forgot my toothbrush and pillow and for 5 minutes I thought I forgot my purse. The kids found it amusing that I forgot my things. I shot back with, “I’ll just borrow Matthew’s toothbrush since he never uses it.”

    After worrying about the weather that passed along our path 24 hours before, we have been driving straight into the sunset. Blue skies and open road. We ate in the car. Paul was still hungry so I offered up some corned beef Rueben’s in the cooler. “It’s Lent,” he said with a glare. We stopped later at a gas station. I saw a rib restaurant. “Ribs?” “It..is...Lent.” Oops. Why can’t I remember? While we were in the gas station...”Honey, do you want a hotdog?” Oooo if looks could kill. Me, “What??” Paul says, “It is already hard enough to not eat meat during Lent, but when someone keeps offering every kind of meat that I love...” Small evil smirk. He always says these things make me cute. So, I told the lady if we can’t eat meat then 12 bags of chips, Dove chocolate and coffee will have to do.

    We are now in Iowa. The sun burned itself out on the horizon. Clear skies, clear roads and sleep in an Iowa Marriott. We are aiming for De Moine by11:00 PM but we might go further. We want to knock off as much pavement as we can. Imagine the Pioneers traveling horseback and wagons for weeks with hopes for fortunes and new beginnings. We are just hoping to see a movie star or two. Not really (well a little) but we love the adventure, the learning and the fun together.

    Well, we kept going and made it to Omaha at 1 AM. We were feeling good and ticked off another couple of hours. We are staying at a Fairfield. Our trusty Marriott Bonvoy. We are now Platinum Elite now (Ghilani’s). I tell you, we have stayed in every level of Marriott and they do not disappoint. So Dad, we just did your Omaha drive that you told me today you used to do when you lived here. Thinking about you. I hope they figure out what is going on. Get Better. Hugs.
    Read more