Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Bath

    May 2, 2022 in England ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    Jamie, our guide, took us on a walking tour of the old part of Bath this morning. I am amazed that pretty much the entire city is built with the honey-colored Bath stone back in the Georgian period from early 1700’s to mid 1800’s. And there really are lots of buildings made in shape of circles and semicircles. But over time all the beautiful Bath stone turns darker brown and black.

    We visited the Roman Baths which dates back to Roman times….43 A.D. They took baths in the hot bubbly mineral springs and believed in its healing powers. Thus, the name of the city! You can’t swim in it anymore, but you can drink the water with about 43 minerals in it, so I did have a glass and am waiting to heal and feel rejuvenated!

    I walked through the Abbey Church which was built about 500 years ago. With all the stained glass it has a nickname of “Lantern of the West”.

    We ate a light lunch at the world famous tea and eating house which is supposedly the oldest house in Bath. It’s the rival of the Bath Bun from yesterday. It was very different, but also delicious. It’s hard to describe…part bun, part bread, part cake and you order it toasted with sweet or savory toppings. We shared and had honey cinnamon with clotted cream and also melted brie with cranberry sauce…wow! Tea is the drink of Great Britain. Funny, but I asked if they had ice tea. She volunteered and said she had never made it but would try!

    Rebecca and another person went to the thermal spa, so I just wandered around town. I walked way too much…my phone recorded 7 miles, which I believe. I wanted to roll down the sidewalk the last 1/2 mile! I refuse to go far for dinner, so we’re heading to the Hop Pole, a popular pub, where I’m getting a much deserved cheeseburger tonight!
    Read more