Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Chartres and Bourges

    October 5, 2022 in France ⋅ 🌙 59 °F

    Elizabeth had a quiet morning at our quaint little apartment while I took off early to explore and wander the cobblestone streets in the old city one more time. I stopped off at the cathedral, wandered through the outside market, and stopped off at a patisserie/boulangerie for a delicious croissant breakfast.

    I wasn’t looking forward to the bus ride to Orleans to catch the train to Bourges, but I really enjoyed it. We drove through the countryside and passed through little villages. I’d travel this way again!

    We reached Bourges where Elizabeth stayed last year. She was so excited to show this charming town to me. Everywhere I go in France is my favorite place. Now, Bourges is my favorite! We took a short walk around the cathedral and stopped for a snack and some wine and cheese to have later.

    I understand why Elizabeth loves Bourges…a lovely town in the Loire Valley. It is built on a hill overlooking swampy plains. And, yes, it too has a spectacular cathedral and a timbered old town! Cathédrale St Étienne (12-13th century) has 2 towers. The North Tower (Butter Tower) was financed by taxing anyone eating butter during Lent! It must have been a popular idea because they did the same thing at the cathedral in Rouen. I know I would be paying a lot of taxes.

    Our accommodation dates back to 1567! I am so impressed, and I have a view of the cathedral from my window! I’ve had it with carrying luggage up 3 flights of winding narrow stairs. I asked a young couple walking by if they would do it! Yes, I rewarded them with some mad money!

    Elizabeth and I laugh about how we take care of each other. She goes to the wine store for a treat, and I go to the patisserie or chocolatier for a treat! And we are both very happy laughing all the way! I am sampling some the regional wines, though.

    Bourges is beautiful at night, too, and we walked down the narrow cobblestone streets all lit up. We ended up at an Italian restaurant which pleased me! The waiters were so personable, and we enjoyed conversation with them. Even the chef/owner came out to talk to us.

    I have all the beautiful shutter windows open, and I’m listening to the pleasant chatter of people at the little cafe restaurant outside our windows and to the bells of the cathedral ringing out right now. This is a magical place. Notice the night view of the cathedral from my window!
    Read more