Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Paris

    October 20, 2022 in France ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    We had a nice day just wandering through the Marais and the Ile de la Cité (island where Notre-Dame is located). I had to take Elizabeth to Aux Merveilleux au Fred for a special meringue type dessert to sample before breakfast! It’s always a necessary stop for me in Paris. Breakfast at the Café St Regis was my first French breakfast this trip! I loved visiting the Shakespeare and Company bookstore that sells English language books (and a few French). I found a book with a collection Paris stories from famous French writers. What a nice souvenir for me! I read that the store houses aspiring writers and artists in exchange for helping out around the bookstore and over 30,000 have stayed there over the years. What fun would that be to do! We actually stopped at Aux Merveilleux au Fred again on the way back to the apartment for a treat after dinner.

    Elizabeth wanted to stay in tonight, so I went searching for a restaurant, but it started raining as soon as I stepped out. I went to the nearest pizza place and ordered a take out. Eating has been quite different this trip. Aside from the Bed and Breakfast in La Charité where she prepared French foods, it’s been catch as catch can. Outside of Paris there was a very limited time that restaurants were open, and we never seemed to time it right. Having covid has probably affected our taste. I actually threw away a Berthillon ice cream cone today which is totally unheard of for me!
    Read more