Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 138

    Down a Big Hole 🕳️

    August 20, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    We’re taking the long way to Cappadocia via Istanbul today so we can tick off a few sights we missed first time around!

    Unfortunately a 3 hour delay on our flight meant we could only fit in one this time around. We took it much more casually than the locals 😳

    We made it in time to squeeze in Justinian’s Basilica Cistern though - tick to another Byzantine monument for Dale 🤓.
    It was much bigger than any of us expected and actually quite beautiful especially with the lighting and art installations in there.

    That done, we needed a coffee at a very cute, little, colourful cafe up the road before heading back to catch our transfer flight.

    Oh….and just in case we ever forget…here’s a memory that was burned into our brains at the airport:
    🎵🎶
    “I wonder how
    I wonder why
    Yesterday, you told me 'bout the blue, blue sky
    And all that I can see
    Is just a yellow lemon tree
    I'm turnin' my head
    Up and down
    I'm turnin', turnin', turnin', turnin', turnin' around
    And all that I can see
    Is iust another lemon tree”
    🎶🎵🤦‍♂️
    Read more