Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Life in Germany

    October 12, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    It’s been a lazy, dreary day. We thought it was gonna get sunny and warm in the afternoon but it didn’t. We did our wash in the morning and went out for Kaffeezeit, coffee and dessert, in the afternoon. (The attached pic!)
    We have been in Germany for for about 10 days now. We’ve only been speaking German even tho everyone we’ve visited knows English. It’s been fun for me to see how quickly I was able to jump into German. I always say I can speak it fluently, but not grammatically correct! I’m even dreaming in German now! Sometimes Davor and I have trouble remembering some words in English!
    In a German home, you always close the doors to the rooms. I always feel like saying, “ And behind door nr 2 is… the bathroom! And behind door nr 3 is…your bedroom!” Also they don’t heat all the rooms so I feel like I’ve been cold a lot! Most people only have a washer and they hang their clothes to dry. Bath towels are stiff!!
    In some ways Germans seem more advanced than us, you pay with Apple Pay everywhere, cash isn’t so common. But yet we’ve only experienced self checkout at one grocery store and you can’t pay for gas at the pump, you have to go inside.
    Germans are very good, polite drivers and they
    follow all the rules. They don’t run a yellow light. Sometimes on the autobahn there is no speed limit but everyone knows to only use the left lane for passing. It’s been really fun for me to observe all of this. We have driven as fast as 100 mph on the autobahn!
    It’s been fun to step into a different culture, but yet be very familiar with it too!!
    Read more