Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Bless me

    February 13, 2018 in Bolivia ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Hello from La Paz,

    Today is the day of Carnival. Bright colors, loud music, drunk people and all attractions are closed for the day. My CEO did some research for us and discovered that the free walking tour was still running today.
    Getting to the walking tour was a bit of a concern for me. As I said the city is not set up in a grid system. In addition no internet means no Google maps. Instead I have the front desk color in a map for me. Based on my years of working in transportation as you can imagine I am quite good at maps. There is always a sense of uncertainty until I arrive at my destination.
    I learned more about the Chulitos (I sure I did not spell that correctly.) They are the women in the long skirts sweaters and bowler caps. As I mentioned before it appears they have extended their hips with extra clothing. It turns out that this is the case and big hips and calves are considered beautiful here. The calves show that they work hard.
    We also had a chance to learn more about the jail. Apparently the police guard the outside but the inside is run by the prisoners. For awhile the best cocaine in Boliva came from inside the walls of that jail. The inside is set up in a case system with the residents paying anywhere from $10 a month to $1000 per month for their stay.
    The tour ended at a Bolivian family restaurant where we participated in our own Carnival activities. We cheered with the local drink of wine and orange juice, we blessed the establishment with flowers and gifts to the earth gods, I was blessed with flowers, and finally we set off fireworks.
    This evening I will be meeting the group for a dinner and hopefully tomorrow will be quad biking at the Valley of the Moon.

    Jodi

    Tips
    Look for free walking tours. You are still excepted to tip at the end, but because you tip based on service they are normally the top tours in the city.
    Read more