Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    New Beginnings

    October 21, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Now I'm sure you're thinking "Wow, Kelley didn't post at all yesterday. She must not have done anything." Wrong. Not only did I wake up early and walk to the shop to get food, but I also had breakfast... and read a book. What a thrilling day. Really though, what occupied my time, was meeting my first cousin once removed and his family for the first time in my life. I took a taxi over to his house, because there was no way I would be late the first time meeting him, and thankfully found his house with relative ease. It was made a bit easier to find than most because it's made from shipping containers, and absolutely amazing. I don't know how most people feel when meeting a family member for the first time, excluding babies, but I was a little nervous. Fortunately, things went extremely well. I was welcomed in to their home, where I met his two children, and we enjoyed coffee and some cake all while getting to know each other. We spoke about our family tree; I think I surprised him with how many of us there are. After we all walked from his house and in to the main city center to go buy Halloween decorations for their house. Along the way we stopped in to say "Hi" to his wife, who was working at her family's shop, and I suppose to introduce me as well. When they realized I didn't really have plans for the day, they very kindly asked me to join them for dinner, and I most certainly accepted. From there we headed to a pub for a few drinks. While his youngest napped in the pram (stroller) and his older one was occupied watching videos on YouTube (fortnight gets you at all ages), the conversation continued to flow. After a while there, we headed back to the house, hoping to get there before the little one work up. Once we got back to the house we just spent time together chatting and, in my opinion, having a wonderful time. When my cousins wife returned home, with fresh cuts of lamb, vegetables, and potatoes, they set to work cooking... and wouldn't let me help at all. We sat down to dinner and I found that their young daughter was very concerned with vegetable intake, and kept serving bunches of vegetables to anyone who didn't have any on their plate. It was highly entertaining. Along with being fed well, we chatted the whole way through dinner an in to the night. I learned so much about my extended family, like that they're uproariously funny, and their life here in Ireland. Perhaps they were just being polite, but they invited me to stay with them for the rest of my stay in Dublin. I accepted. Well past midnight they called a cab so I could head back to my hostel and get some rest before today's adventure. With my plans constantly changing, I figured I had better see the sights I want while I have the time, so today I'm headed to Giant's Causeway on a bus tour. It's an all day trip to four destinations, two of which are apparently filming locations for Game of Thrones, but I'm just excited to see more scenery. So, let's see how today goes.Read more