Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    A "Quiet" Day

    October 26, 2018 in England ⋅ ☀️ 10 °C

    Today has been wonderful, and I've really done nothing. I got up in the morning, and made sure to return the car, because that was priority number one. I did learn about London's congestion charge, which basically means that if you drive through the middle of London you get hit with a fee. It's only for certain hours, but I couldn't remember when I'd driven in. Then I tried to find an underground so I could get back to my hostel, but there were none near me, but the very polite man at Hertz directed me to a bus stop... that I couldn't use. I guess the bus' don't take cash or coins any more and you either need an "Oyster" card from a tube station (where I was trying to go) or a credit card that has tap, a.k.a. wireless payment. Fortunately I was able to find wifi so I could pull up a map and have it direct me to the closest tube station. It was only a 45 minute walk... in the rain. Naturally when I saw the McDonalds I popped inside, I had only been walking for 10 minutes, but I know free wifi when I see it. I downloaded a taxi app, and I was on my way. Finally getting back to the hostel at around 11, I was extra grateful that today I decided to just take it easy. I went upstairs, and promptly took a nap. Now I get to buy groceries, take a shower, get an oyster card, plan the rest of my trip, and get some laundry done before I'm off and running again tomorrow. You know, really taking it easy.

    Below are some photos of my accommodations (and they are highly impressive), the view from the window by my bed, my handy cupboard by my bed, and a map of where I am.
    Read more